19 October 2012

Gok Wan ‘over the moon’ to be hosting Stonewall Awards

Jessie J, Sue Perkins and Paralympic heroes among stars shortlisted
for making a ‘positive difference’ to gay people

GokTV favourite Gok Wan today said he’s ‘over the moon’ to be hosting the Stonewall Awards at the V&A on Thursday 1 November. Stonewall’s annual Awards celebrate people and organisations who’ve made a positive contribution to the lives of Britain’s 3.7 million lesbian, gay and bisexual people, and are the biggest night in the charity’s fundraising calendar.

This year’s shortlisted Entertainer of the Year nominees include The Great British Bake-Off co-host Sue Perkins and X Factor star Marcus Collins, while two Paralympic champions are among those competing for the Sports Award of the Year. ITV’s Britain’s Got Talent and All Star Mr & Mrs make the shortlist for Broadcast of the Year, and pop diva Jessie J and the founders of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream company are shortlisted for Hero of the Year.

Gok – currently hosting Channel 4’s dating game show Baggage – said: ‘I was over the moon when Stonewall asked me to host their fabulous Awards. It’s an amazing opportunity to celebrate some big names and unsung heroes who’ve made a huge difference to millions of gay people. Over half of gay kids are bullied at school, and Stonewall’s leading the way to stop that. I’m so proud to be able to support their work.’

Seven awards – Entertainer, Politician, Broadcast, Journalist, Publication, Writer and the Sports Award of the Year – will be selected by an independent judging panel including the broadcaster Alice Arnold and former England rugby hero Ben Cohen. Three Awards – Hero, Community Group and Bigot of the Year – are voted for by Stonewall’s thousands of supporters.

The seventh annual Stonewall Awards ceremony takes place on Thursday 1 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £155 plus VAT. To book your ticket visit www.stonewall.org.uk/awards or call 020 7593 1875.

The full shortlists:

Hero of the Year – Supported by PwC
• Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield
• Jackie Crozier
• Tim Franks
• Rev Giles Fraser
• Jessie J

Broadcast of the Year – supported by London Women's Clinic
• A Civil Arrangement (BBC4)
• Britain’s Got Talent (ITV1)
• Long Lost Family (ITV1)
• One Born Every Minute (C4)
• All Star Mr & Mrs (ITV1)

Entertainer of the Year
• Evan Rachel Wood
• Frank Ocean
• Marcus Collins 
• Sue Perkins
• Tom Wilkinson (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)

Journalist of the Year
• Hugo Rifkind (The Times)
• Owen Jones (The Independent)
• Paul Burston (Time Out)
• Sarah Garrett (g3 Magazine)
• Lucy Mangan (The Guardian)

Politician of the Year
• Iain Stewart MP
• Lynne Featherstone MP & Lord Henley 
• Cllr Nick Forbes
• Nicola Sturgeon MSP
• Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year
• Attitude
• DC Comics
• London Evening Standard
• Gay Star News
• Tatler

Sports Award of the Year – supported by Barclays
• Claire Harvey
• Carl Hester
• Lee Pearson CBE
• Outdoor Lads
• Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – Supported by Coutts
• Jackie Kay (Reality, Reality)
• Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal?)
• Madeline Miller (The Song of Achilles)
• Patrick Gale (A Perfectly Good Man)
• V G Lee (Always You, Edina)

Community Group of the Year – supported by Square Peg Media and the Inclusive Foundation
Winner to be announced on 1 November.

Bigot of the Year
• Alan Craig
• Simon Lokodo
• Lord Maginnis
• Cardinal Keith O’Brien
• Archbishop Philip Tartaglia

(not displayed)

(will appear on this page)

(will appear on this page)

E-newsletter signup


During office hours please call: 020 7593 1856 or outside office hours on 07985 439 660.

If you are a journalist and wish to be added to Stonewall's media contacts list, please contact matt.horwood@stonewall.org.uk