28 September 2012

Sue Perkins, Britain’s Got Talent, DC Comics and three from Team GB shortlisted for Stonewall 2012 Awards

Evan Rachel Wood, Marcus Collins and Alison Steadman drama also shortlisted

AwardLogoToday Stonewall announces the shortlists for its seventh Awards ceremony to be held on 1 November 2012 at the V&A in London. The Awards are one of the most glamorous events in Stonewall’s fundraising calendar. They celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last year.

Hip hop star Frank Ocean and comedian and broadcaster Sue Perkins are nominated for ‘Entertainer of the Year’, while Team GB athletes Claire Harvey, Carl Hester and Lee Pearson make the ‘Sports Awards’ shortlist. ITV’s Britain’s Got Talent and Alison Steadman’s BBC Four drama A Civil Arrangement are among the nominees battling it out for ‘Broadcast of the Year’. And the London Evening Standard, gay news website Gay Star News and Attitude magazine are three of those competing for ‘Publication of the Year’.

‘Journalist of the Year’ nominees include Hugo Rifkind from The Times, the Independent columnist Owen Jones, Guardian Weekend’s Lucy Mangan and Time Out’s Paul Burston. Jackie Kay, Jeanette Winterson, and V G Lee are among the ‘Writer of the Year’ nominees for Reality, Reality, Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal? and Always You, Edina.

Nominees for ‘Politician of the Year’ include Iain Stewart MP, Lynne Featherstone MP and Nicola Sturgeon MSP.

Winners from these categories will be chosen by a celebrity judging panel comprising broadcaster Alice Arnold, Channel 4 News Culture Editor Matthew Cain, former England rugby star Ben Cohen, author Val McDermid and UK Black Pride Managing Director Phyll Opoku-Gyimah.

Thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain are currently voting for three other categories - ‘Community Group of the Year’ (supported by Square Peg Media and the Inclusive Foundation), ‘Hero of the Year’ and ‘Bigot of the Year’. ‘Hero of the Year’ nominees include Jessie J for proudly reaffirming time and again that she is bisexual.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall Chief Executive, said: ‘This year’s Stonewall Award nominees include Olympic and Paralympic heroes, regional, national and industry publications, popular TV shows and popular lesbian, gay, bisexual and straight entertainers. The diversity of those nominated for an award demonstrates how gay equality is firmly embedded in 21st-century British life. That’s a real cause for celebration.’

The seventh annual Stonewall Awards ceremony takes place on Thursday 1 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £155 plus VAT. To book your ticket visit www.stonewall.org.uk/awards or call 020 7593 1875.

The full shortlists:

Hero of the Year
• Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield
• Jackie Crozier
• Tim Franks
• Rev Giles Fraser
• Jessie J

Broadcast of the Year
– supported by London Women's Clinic
• A Civil Arrangement (BBC4)
• Britain’s Got Talent (ITV1)
• Long Lost Family (ITV1)
• One Born Every Minute (C4)
• All Star Mr & Mrs (ITV1)

Entertainer of the Year
• Evan Rachel Wood
• Frank Ocean
• Marcus Collins 
• Sue Perkins
• Tom Wilkinson (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)

Journalist of the Year
• Hugo Rifkind (The Times)
• Owen Jones (The Independent)
• Paul Burston (Time Out)
• Sarah Garrett (g3 Magazine)
• Lucy Mangan (The Guardian)

Politician of the Year
• Iain Stewart MP
• Lynne Featherstone MP & Lord Henley 
• Cllr Nick Forbes
• Nicola Sturgeon MSP
• Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year
• Attitude
• DC Comics
• London Evening Standard
• Gay Star News
• Tatler

Sports Award of the Year – supported by Barclays
• Claire Harvey
• Carl Hester
• Lee Pearson CBE
• Outdoor Lads
• Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – Supported by Coutts
• Jackie Kay (Reality, Reality)
• Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal?)
• Madeline Miller (The Song of Achilles)
• Patrick Gale (A Perfectly Good Man)
• V G Lee (Always You, Edina)

Community Group of the Year - supported by Square Peg Media and the Inclusive Foundation
Winner to be announced on 1 November.

Bigot of the Year
• Alan Craig
• Simon Lokodo
• Lord Maginnis
• Cardinal Keith O'Brien
• Archbishop Philip Tartaglia

(not displayed)

(will appear on this page)

(will appear on this page)

E-newsletter signup


During office hours please call: 020 7593 1856 or outside office hours on 07985 439 660.

If you are a journalist and wish to be added to Stonewall's media contacts list, please contact matt.horwood@stonewall.org.uk