the lesbian, gay and bisexual charity

Matt Smith, Jessie J, Vanessa Feltz, Christopher Plummer – nominated for 2011 Stonewall Awards

Steven Davies, Jodi Picoult, Ben Cohen listed too 

Today Stonewall announces the shortlists for its sixth Awards ceremony to be held on 3 November 2011 at the V&A in London. The Awards, supported by Nationwide, are one of the most glamorous events in Stonewall’s fundraising calendar. They celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last 12 months.

Actors Matt Smith, Jane Hazlegrove and Christopher Plummer and singer Jessie J are all shortlisted as ‘Entertainer of the Year’. BBC1’s Torchwood, BBC3’s Lip Service and The World’s Worst Place to be Gay and Channel 4’s Jamie’s Dream School are among the nominees battling it out for ‘Broadcast of the Year’. And Guardian Weekend and website So So Gay are two of the titles competing for ‘Publication of the Year’.

Channel 4 News Culture Editor Matthew Cain and Vanessa Feltz and are both shortlisted as ‘Journalist of the Year’. ‘Writer of the Year’ nominees include Jodi Picoult for Sing You Home, Alan Hollinghurst for The Stranger’s Child and Phillip Hensher for King of the Badgers.

Nominated politicians include Chris Bryant MP, Helen Mary Jones and Ruth Davidson MSP and nominations for the ‘Sports’ Award include former rugby star Ben Cohen and cricketer Steven Davies.

Winners from these categories will be chosen by a celebrity judging panel including Gok Wan, England women's football coach Hope Powell and radio presenter Eddie Mair.

Voting is currently taking place for three other categories (‘Stonewall Community Group,’ ‘Hero of the Year’ and ‘Bigot of the Year’) by thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain. ‘Hero of the Year’ nominees include Lady Gaga for her LGB&T equality campaigning.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall Chief Executive, said: ‘This year’s Stonewall Award nominees include out gay sport stars, regional, national and sector publications, popular TV shows and popular LGB and straight entertainers. The diversity of those nominated for an award demonstrates how gay equality is embedding itself into 21st century British life. We think that’s a real cause for celebration.’

The sixth annual Stonewall Awards ceremony, hosted by Stephen K Amos, takes place on Thursday 3 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £150 + VAT. To book your ticket visit or contact Maria Anna Petrou on 020 7593 2294.

Shortlists (for the Hero and Bigot of the Year nominees click here)

Entertainer of the Year
• Christopher Plummer (Beginners)
• Harry Derbidge (The Only Way is Essex, ITV2)
• Jane Hazlegrove (Casualty, BBC1)
• Jessie J
• Matt Smith (Christopher and His Kind, BBC2)

Broadcast of the Year
• Torchwood (BBC1)
• Lip Service (BBC3)
• The Night Watch (BBC2)
• Jamie’s Dream School (C4)
• The World’s Worst Place to be Gay? (BBC3)

Publication of the Year
• People Management
• Nursing Standard
• Derby Telegraph
• Guardian Weekend

Journalist of the Year
• Matthew Cain (C4 News)
• Vanessa Feltz (Radio 2, Daily Express, BBC London)
• Grizelda (Private Eye, The Spectator)
• Matthew Todd (Attitude)
• Phil Reay-Smith (Daybreak, ITV1)

Writer of the Year
• Jodi Picoult, Sing You Home
• Eleanor Catton, The Rehearsal
• Alan Hollinghurst, The Stranger’s Child
• Philip Hensher, King of the Badgers
• Ali Smith, There but for the
Politician of the Year
• Chris Bryant MP
• Nigel Evans MP
• Ruth Davidson MSP
• Helen Mary Jones
• Jeremy Browne MP

Sportsperson of the Year
• Steven Davies
• Anton Hysen
• Lawn Tennis Association
• The Gay Outdoor Club
• Ben Cohen

(not displayed)

(will appear on this page)

(will appear on this page)

E-newsletter signup


During office hours please call: 020 7593 1856 or outside office hours on 07985 439 660.

If you are a journalist and wish to be added to Stonewall's media contacts list, please contact