the lesbian, gay and bisexual charity

Beth Ditto, Boyzone, Mary Portas, Paul O’Grady, Joan Bakewell – all nominated for Stonewall Awards

Eagerly anticipated 2009 shortlists announced

Stonewall’s 2009 Awards ceremony, held at London’s glitzy V&A on 5 November, is set to be the liveliest so far as the shortlists are revealed.

The event, sponsored by Barclays, honours those who have made a positive contribution to lesbian and gay equality in Britain in the past year.

Comedian Stephen K Amos, actor Russell Tovey, singer Beth Ditto, boy band Boyzone and TV personality Mary Portas are shortlisted for ‘Entertainer of the Year’ at the Awards.

Independent columnists Janet Street Porter and Johann Hari, Times columnist Joan Bakewell and Diva Editor Jane Czyzselska are among those shortlisted as ‘Journalist of the Year.’ ‘Writer of the Year’ nominees include Oscar winner Dustin Lance Black for Milk, Paul O’Grady for At My Mother’s Knee, Booker Prize shortlist nominee Sarah Waters for The Little Stranger, theatre critic turned playwright Nicholas De Jongh for Plague Over England and Geraldine Bedell for The Gulf Between Us.         

Nominated politicians include new Speaker John Bercow, Secretary of State for Culture, Media & Sport Ben Bradshaw, Labour MP Chris Bryant and Liberal Democrat MP Lynne Featherstone.

Winners from these categories and Sports Award, Publication and Broadcast of the Year will be chosen by a celebrity judging panel which includes TV personality Sue Perkins, Today presenter Evan Davis and former basketball player John Amaechi.

Voting is currently taking place for three other categories by thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain. ‘Hero of the Year’ nominees include poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy and ‘Bigot of the year’ nominees include The Phelps Family.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall Chief Executive, said: ‘The Stonewall Awards recognise talented people who use their skills to champion lesbian, gay and bisexual equality in Britain. Every year the competition ups a notch – an encouraging sign that lesbian and gay visibility is gaining confidence.’

The fourth annual Stonewall Awards ceremony, hosted by Gok Wan, takes place on Thursday 5 November at the V&A in London. The evening begins at 7pm with a champagne and canapé reception. After the ceremony the evening continues with further champagne and food.

Tickets are £150 + VAT. To book your ticket contact / 020 7593 1875.  

Thanks to the generous support of Barclays, every pound from ticket sales will go towards Stonewall’s key campaigns, including its groundbreaking Education for All programme, which tackles homophobic bullying in Britain’s schools.

Stonewall  Awards 2009 – Shortlists

Publication of the Year
Financial Times
People Management
The Times

Politician of the Year
John Bercow MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
Chris Bryant MP
Lynne Featherstone MP
Baroness Turner of Camden

Writer of the Year
Dustin Lance Black (Milk) 
Geraldine Bedell – (The Gulf Between Us) 
Paul O’Grady (At My Mother’s Knee)
Nicholas de Jongh (Plague Over England)
Sarah Waters (The Little Stranger)

Entertainer of the Year
Stephen K Amos
Beth Ditto
Mary Portas
Russell Tovey

Sports Award of the Year
Allison Fisher
Michael Hill
HotScots FC
Hope Powell
Kings Cross Steelers RFC

 Journalist of the Year
Jane Czyzselska (Diva and freelance)
Phil Reay-Smith (Freelance, The Times)
Johann Hari (Attitude and The Independent)
Joan Bakewell (The Times)
Janet Street Porter (The Independent)

Broadcast of the Year
‘Corrective Rape in South Africa’ (Samira Ahmed – Channel 4 News report)
Economy Gastronomy (BBC 2)
Find me a Family (Channel 4)
FYI Radio (lesbian and gay youth radio station)
Pobol y Cwm (BBC Cymru)


Boyzone awarded

Can I please pass on my congratulations to Boyzone for their award this year. They truly deserve this. Right from the start they were every womans and mans dream. They gave everything to what they did. I aren't homosexual or bi-sexual, but by God I can see how they attracted so many from their personalities & bodies, inside and out. They are true, honest and entertaining guys. This year is so poingant though with the, I have to say shocking and tearful loss of Stephen Gately....I'll never forget him tickling me on a sofa before a gig. Hehehe!!! I love you Steo. This award is for you. xxx

Tinkerbell, 05 November 2009

My Nomination

I just wanted to say that win or lose I am honoured to have been nominated for the Sports Award this year. I compete as the only openly gay competitor within the British Superbike Championships for a prvately funded team - TABOO Motorsport. I hope that through my success in a typically macho sport that I have not only proven that your sexuality is not a reason to give up on your dreams or fail in something and I hope that I have been seen as a positive role model for other young gay and lesbians. I look forward to seeing you all on the 5th November and thank you once again for recognising me as a Sports Personality

Michael Hill, 02 October 2009

Go PyC!

Great news about Pobol y Cwm! For years it has tackled lesbian, gay and bisexual storylines. It totally deserves to win!!!

Matt, 29 September 2009

(not displayed)

(will appear on this page)

(will appear on this page)

E-newsletter signup


During office hours please call: 020 7593 1856 or outside office hours on 07985 439 660.

If you are a journalist and wish to be added to Stonewall's media contacts list, please contact